about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2007-06-18

In which I feel a bit like Holly Golightly...

Breakfast at Tiffany's is one of my favorite movies.

I know that most people watch the movie and think that Audrey Hepburn's character is so beautiful and fabulous that they'd like to be like her. And I'm sure the cast of Sex and the City would have nothing on Miss-a-Golightly!

However, I've always thought that it's mostly a sad movie about a lost woman. And I'm pretty thankful that my life doesn't resemble Audrey's character's.

Unfortunately, I have this embarrassing little coping mechanism that I'm afraid I might have learned from Miss-a-Golightly.

On my way home from work, I take the subway to the commuter rail station and then take the train home. There is a flower shop at the commuter rail station, which always has the most beautiful arrangements of flowers in buckets outside.

So when I'm feeling a bit down, I take the time I have between trains and go "window shopping" outside at the flower shop. I just stand there, look at all the pretty flowers, and feel better.

Although it's not quite like looking in the windows of Tiffany's, it has the same effect of making the on-looker feel better.

Maybe I'll feel even better if I download "Moon River" to my iPod and play it next time I'm standing there.