about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2007-06-01

In which I share a thought I had while driving�

I�m not in advertising. Most of what I know about advertising comes from watching Darrin on Bewitched; if that gives you any indication of the level of naivet� we�re talking about here. But I�m going to offer my thoughts anyway.

I saw the following truck on the road the other day:



I don�t know if you can see it clearly, but the Exxon tiger mascot is right there on the truck in this pose:



Now it�s not my business, but if you were marketing lubricant intended for automobiles, would you pair it with a logo of a tiger positioned in such a way that he looks ready to take it up the ass?

Because to me, that product/logo combination seems to suggest some sort of off-label usage that I�m not so sure Exxon meant to promote.