about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-11-13

In which I enjoy a little musical interlude�

Geoff got an mp3 player this weekend. He signed up for one of the on-line music services. So I�ve been enjoying listening to songs that I haven�t heard since the Napster days. (God, I miss the Napster days!)

Specifically, I�ve been enjoying the following songs:

  1. Another Saturday Night by Sam Cooke -- �If I don�t find me a honey to help me spend my money, I�ll have to blow this town.� Now, maybe it�s just me, but I have never met a man who needed a woman to �help him� spend his money. I think I have the Best Buy receipts to prove that.

  2. American Woman by The Guess Who � I love the slow intro that completely makes you think it will be a nice mellow song, and then the song totally rocks out.

  3. Coconut by Harry Nilsson � I think I remember a version of this song by the Muppets that was funny.

  4. Tainted Love by Soft Cell � �I love you though you hurt me so. Now I�m gonna pack my things and go.�

  5. Fever by Peggy Lee � It is impossible not to snap while listening to this song.

  6. Some Kind of Wonderful by Grand Funk Railroad � Wouldn�t you love to have someone sing this song to you?

  7. Squeeze Box by The Who � Classic. Fabulous.

  8. It Wasn�t Me by Shaggy � Not classic. But still funny and catchy!

  9. The House that Jack Built by Aretha Franklin � Nobody sings it better than Aretha.

  10. Camel Walk by Southern Culture on the Skids -- �Little Debbie, Little Debbie, I�m a comin� on home baby, �cause you make me wanna walk, like a camel.� I have no idea what that means, but the song is perfect when you want to dance.

  11. Sweet Jane by The Cowboy Junkies � I�ve also been listening to the Lou Reed version, just to do a little compare/contrast. I like the Cowboy Junkies' interpretation the best. It�s sad, desperate and perfect, which, now that I think about it, pretty much describes anything the Cowboy Junkies sing.

Now if only I had an mp3 player, I could enjoy this eclectic playlist all the time.

Dear Santa, I�ve been very good this year�