about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-11-01

In which I think about the soundtrack to break-ups�

Last week Geoff and I saw the Barenaked Ladies in Manchester, NH. The concert was wonderful in so many ways. Since then I�ve been listening to their new CD Barenaked Ladies Are Me. There are a bunch of great tracks on the disc. I�m really in love with Sound of Your Voice, Easy and Take It Back.

But the song that keeps sticking in my head is Wind It Up. It�s a break-up song with these great lyrics:

If you are leaving then I wish you luck
I hope someone can make your heart warm
I was a baby when I learned to suck
But you have raised it to an art form.

This got me thinking of the great break-up songs around. I�m not talking about the �I�m so sad� type songs; I�m talking about the �I�m so mad� type songs, the �Gloria Gaynor�s I Will Survive� type songs. I never thought the sad, sappy songs helped anyone. I think in times of a breakup you need to be singing the screw-you songs.

These are some of my favorites:

  • Alanis Morissette�s You Oughta Know: �It was a slap in the face how quickly I was replaced / Are you thinking of me when you fuck her?"

  • Richard Shindell�s Are You Happy Now?: �Though I know it's hard to tell / I hope that what's-his-name treats you well / I still maintain that he's a bum / But it's your money - have some fun / And are you happy now?�

  • Liz Phair�s Divorce Song: �And the license said you had to stick around until I was dead / But if you're tired of looking at my face, I guess I already am.�

  • Ani DiFranco�s Untouchable Face: �So fuck you / and your untouchable face / and fuck you / for existing in the first place / and who am I / that I should be vying for your touch / and who am I / I bet you can't even tell me that much.�

This reminds me of these great calling-off-the-engagement cards I saw the other day from Other Announcements. The front of the card said, �Single.� Inside it said, �Picked the wrong guy. Gave him the wrong finger.�

While addressing those cards, I�d suggest turning the stereo up and singing loudly to one of the above songs.