about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-09-28

In which I ponder war and think, �Uh, good god, what is it good for?� and come to this conclusion: absolutely nothing�

A couple of weeks ago Geoff and I got a new couch. This is it:

The couch is upholstered in stain-guarded microfiber. We chose this fabric deliberately. We did a lot of research and informal surveys to determine what fabrics are recommended for households with pets. It turns out that there is a consensus among the pet-owning community that microfiber and leather are the best options. So we got a couch in microfiber and a chair in leather. Perfect, right?

Wrong.

See it turns out that even though we specifically bought this couch and chair in easily-cleanable fabrics because of the dogs, my husband has now decided that �THE DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED ON THE NEW COUCH.�

But the thing is that the dogs have always been allowed on the couch. I like having the dogs on the couch. Walter, in particular, is a big old snuggle bug � he�s 70 pounds of cuddly, golden happiness. Without the dogs on the couch, I miss my snuggle time. Instead, I spend the time I would normally spend cuddling, pushing the dogs off the couch/scolding them/trying to get them to listen to me, all before Geoff gets out of his chair and makes them get off the couch. It�s not fun.

We�ve had the couch for a couple of weeks now, and I sort of thought that by now either Geoff would realize the futility in his endeavor, or the dogs would grasp the whole not-allowed-on-the-couch thing. Neither has happened. I was hoping it would be Geoff who would change his mind because, frankly, the dogs are dumb as a box of rocks so the odds of them catching on are pretty slim.

It�s a war at my home. If you�d like some indication of the ridiculousness of this battle, check out Geoff�s newest weapon:

Note that this has not stopped Gus from rubbing himself across the entire front of the couch. I'm waiting for Geoff to bust out the chicken wire and Anti-Canine Missiles (ACMs for short). Do you think they sell those at Petsmart?

Reporting from the front lines, this is Megan, signing off.