about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-09-24

In which I quote Kurt Vonnegut�

I just finished rereading A Man without a Country. There are so many amazing passages in that book that I almost broke my no-more-buying-books-to-keep-in-our-tiny-condo rule just to be able to underline and star and otherwise comment to myself in the margins of the book.

Here are some of my favorite gems:

  • ��I realize some of you may be having trouble deciding whether I am kidding or not. So from now on I will tell you when I�m kidding. For instance�We are about to be attacked by Al Quaeda. Wave flags if you have them. That always seems to scare them away. I�m kidding.�

  • �Can I tell you the truth? I mean this isn�t the TV news is it?�

  • Comparing the Vietnam War to the Iraq War - �That war only made billionaires out of millionaires. Today�s war is making trillionaires out of billionaires. Now I call that progress.�

  • On finding Biblical justification for your actions � "How about Jesus� Sermon on the Mount, the Beatitudes?
    Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the Earth.
    Blessed are the merciful for they shall obtain mercy.
    Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the children of God.
    And so on. Not exactly planks in a Republican platform. Not exactly George W. Bush, Dick Cheney or Donald Rumsfeld stuff.�

I love Vonnegut so much I'm okay with the fact that posting this will put me on the government�s Watch List.