about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-09-05

In which I reveal tiny, unrelated snippets from my life as of late and learn that I can't get by without a little help from my friends�

  • My friend Tom, who is in his 40s, just shared that he is dating a 22-year-old. I wasn�t sure how to react to that. Should I have been charmed because the situation is like a How-Stella-Got-Her-Groove-Back sort of thing? Or should I have been disturbed because the situation is more akin to a Tom Cruise/Katie Holmes sort of thing? I didn�t know, so I just said, �Good for you,� but what I meant was, �Is it good for her?�

  • I�m feeling a bit of angst lately. (I thought that wasn�t supposed to happen outside of your teens.) I think I am feeling this way because I lost my outlet for talking about the minutia of my life. I had three friends with whom I have fallen out of touch in the past year or so that I used to be able to vent to about my life. One was strictly an e-mail friend. One was strictly a phone friend. And the third was an e-mail/phone hybrid friend. I miss them and the comfort and counsel they provided. I lost the e-mail friend because he won�t talk to me for reasons that I believe have more to do with the oppressive politics of marriage and the appearance of impropriety, then the asserted �fact� that he is �really busy now.� I lost the phone friend because his cell was disconnected and I have no other contact number or an address for him because he�s a bit of a Boo Radley type. I lost the e-mail/phone friend because she went off to law school. I don�t know where. She hasn�t e-mailed or called since then, which doesn�t shock me since she isn�t the world�s best correspondent. Although I�m not �shocked,� I am a little hurt. I can�t help it. I really miss her. I know I could probably find her if I put in some effort, but I haven�t. I guess I�ll just wait until the mental cost-benefit-analysis I�m apparently subconsciously performing results in my deciding that it�s worth the effort to try to find her. Where is Nancy Drew when you need her?

  • I know it�s old, but I still watch this weekly. It�s funny (in that sad sort of way) every time.

  • This post breaks my heart. Seriously, my heart is splitting into little pieces. I don�t even know this woman and have never met her dog, but still, my heart � did I mention the shattering? I can�t help but think of my two little smooshy-faced dogs* and what I would be feeling if I were in her shoes. Apparently, I�d be feeling shattered. Shadoobie.

*