about me

get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


about me





2006-08-24

In which I continue to provide feeble rationalizations for my consumer decisions...

Here's the thing about Starbucks: they're really not evil. They don't put other "mom-and-pop" coffee joints out of business. In fact, I read this case study that said the addition of a Starbucks to a local market will frequently increase the specialty-coffee consumer base so much that new independent stores are able to open and thrive. Apparently Starbucks is so good at increasing the "coffee awareness" and demand for high-end coffee that other stores are able to feed off of those increases.

See? They aren't really bad.

Unless, of course, you think that having a large market of people who think paying $5 per cup of joe is perfectly acceptable is "bad." But honestly, who would say that? I mean what else are we going to do with all that disposable income? Help alleviate poverty? Support the arts? Lobby for social reform? Seriously, who does that?

Okay, I�m feeling worse than ever.

Although I bet a nice non-fat vanilla latte would help soothe my aching conscience.